MacPsych.blog

Getting shit done

At work as a psychologist, I coach and train professionals in ways to be more productive and focus on their priorities.

But as I find myself saying quite often, knowing is not the same as doing.

I’m no angel when it comes to this stuff and can easily lapse into procrastination.

So recently, I’ve been reflecting a little more on my own approach to getting things done, and noting what actually works for me. Here are some of the simpler things that have stood out for me.

Timing is everything

I benefit from nothing my priorities for the month, then distilling them into the week, and then choosing what to do from this list each day. Rather than write lots of lists, I use tags in Things 3 to bring some clarity. What really needs to get done this month has been tagged ‘July 2024’, while what must be done this week is simply tagged ‘This week’.

So, no matter how busy my number of tasks is, I can filter for this week or month at any point with just a few keystrokes and get some real clarity. No need to look at things due later in the month or even year.

A morning blitz

I really benefit from starting my working day with an attack on the very simple and actionable things on my list. Quick emails, making reservations, sending resources, posting podcast episodes etc.

This seems to get my brain going and I can turn to deeper work once I’m up and running, cognitively speaking.

Walks

The research is clear - walking is simply good for us, psychologically and physically. But when I actually make the effort to get out of my office and walk around the park for a while, I really notice the benefits. Problem-solving, clarity of priorities, lower anxiety about deadlines.

It’s totally worth the break from the desk and I usually bring a notebook in case I’m worried I’ll forget something inspirational along the way.

Sometimes, paper is best

On that note, I love to do a brain dump on paper. It lowers my anxiety, brings clarity, and avoids the risk of being distracted by something on one of my digital devices. Writing also forces me to slow down and be more intentional.

And whatever makes its way onto paper will eventually go into Things 3, so I don’t have the worry of losing ideas if/when I lose the notebook.

Boundaries

I try not to work in the evenings or at weekends. But ideas can strike at any time - so to avoid unwanted overspill from work to home, I note things down on my phone as soon as they occur to me, and then get back to what I was doing or enjoying.

Additionally, I don’t look at my email if I’m not in the office, as I’ve learnt over the years that I’m not responsible for landing planes or conducting open-heart surgery. There’s absolutely nothing in my working life that can’t wait until tomorrow.

Your mileage may vary

Just some of the ways I can help myself do more of the stuff that actually matters, in a way that doesn’t lead to stress or worry. But there are no ‘one size fits all solutions’, so think about your own context and preferences before copying any of the above. 

#Apps #Productivity #Task management #Walking